Thrifty Deals into Thrifty Meals

I started this post a few hours ago, then left the room to go make dinner.  Little did I know my 7 year old son, got on my computer and typed his little heart out.  Then he managed to hit the publish button.  It posted for a few hours, and I did not even know.  I about died when I came out to work on it and saw it posted….  Looking all crazy!!!!  So sorry for any confusion.

One of the best ways to be Thrifty is to reduce waste. I hate brown bananas, they make me gag, but they make wonderful banana bread, or pop them into the freezer and make a fruit smoothie with them.

img_0432

Cream cheese banana bread

In a bowl mix,

  • 3/4 cups softened butter
  • 1 (8oz) cream cheese softened
  • 2 cups sugar

Mix till well blended then add

  • 2 large eggs

img_0438

In another bowl mix dry ingredients

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Slowly add to wet ingredients,  Don’t over mix it… 

img_0439

 

Once you have dry ingredients mixed in, add

  • 1 and 1/2 cups mashed bananas ( about 4 bananas)
  • 1 cup pecans (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

 

img_0442You can make muffins or bread, I always make 12 muffins and 1 loaf of bread.  Bake the muffins at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.  Cook the bread for 1 hour on 350 degrees.  Make sure the middle is done before you take it out of the oven.  Test it with a toothpick if it pulls out clean it should be done.
img_0450

4 Responses

  1. I’m kind of sad I missed your son’s version. Though I know that’s not very funny from your point of view, I think it would have put a smile on my face. 🙂

  2. I am sad I missed his version too! Don’t ever be sorry about something like that ~ as your title implies “A Thrifty MOM” MOM being what comes first 😉

  3. Thanks…it was pretty funny now that I look back on it…but boy was I shocked…ha haa haa

  4. If you can’t get to that banana bread TODAY pop the bananas in the freezer and bake another day. They don’t take long to thaw out, so you can peel and mash them. I’ve had to do this many times, before heading out of town or just because i don’t have enough bananas for bread.

Leave a Reply

