Ways to use your POST cereal.

Make your own Granola Bars
This week I was able to get Post cereal for .17 cents a box.  We like to make our own granola / cereal bars.  At this price you can’t go wrong.

Start out with 8 cups of cerea,l I used Blueberry Morning.  Honey Bunches of Oats, or any Post Selects cereal works  great too. 
Then add 1 cup coconut,
 1/2 cup sun flower seed, 
1/2 cup crasins
 (You can use what ever you like, nuts, berrys, dried fruit.)
Mix together in a large bowl

In a large sauce pan, add
1 stick butter ( 8 TBSP)
3/4 cup Light Karo Syrup
3/4 cup sugar

On Medium/High heat
Stir till well blended
Boil for only 2 minutes, take off heat and add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Pour over the top of your cereal nut mixture.  Stir well 

Pour into a buttered 9×13 pan.  FIRMLY press into the bottom.  If you do not press it down enough, they will not stick together.

Let cool for 1 hour.  Then cut into bars, it makes 18 large bars.

Bag them, they stay fresh about a week.  Or you can Freeze them.

Do you have a cereal recipe you would like to share?
12 Responses

  1. Homemade Granola Cereal

    1/2 cup oil
    1/2 cup honey
    8 cups old-fashioned rolled or quick oats
    dash of vanilla
    cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, coconut, nuts, dried fruit, etc (optional)

    Heat oil and honey on medium-high temp. in a large skillet until bubbly. Then add oats, vanilla and any other ingredient to make it your own. Mix and fold until all ingredients are coated and mixture is slightly brown.

    Great hot or cold, also good to dip fruit in or sprinkle over yogurt. Enjoy!

  2. I haven’t figured out a recipe yet, but my idea was these nut and fruit cereals would be great in a cookie without breaking the bank. Helen in Meridian

  3. Thanks for this recipe. My 2 year old son is allergic to all nuts, so it is impossible to find comerical brand granola bars that he can eat. I just checked the box of Honey bunches of Oats-and those are good to go! He will be so excited! thanks for all your advice for this newbie!

  4. Emilee,
    My Friends daughter is also allergic to nuts, she started using sun flower seed instead…..I tried them and like them better. Plus they cost less. Good luck i hope your son like them

  5. Awesome recipe. I just made this with the Banana Nut Crunch and Blueberry Morning. I added some chocolate chips to it. I should have waited and just added them to the top… but with as much cereal as I have I can make another batch! They are still yummy and since my husband is a chocoholic he is going to love them! Thanks!

  6. I absolutely love that you share what you do with all the fabulous finds you get. I can’t express enough how helpful the step by step instructions and pictures have been. Thank you for sharing your talents and knowledge with all of us. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! You are amazing!

  7. Thank you!! I am going to make this for FHE with the cereal we got! Another Granola Bar recipe is to use 1/2 c. honey, 1/2 c. brown sugar, heat until almost boiling. Remove from heat stir in 1/2 c. peanut butter. Pour honey mixture over 2 c. oatmeal and 1 1/2 c. rice crispies. add any fruit, nuts, chocolate you like.

  8. These are so yummy, thank you for sharing, these are the best I have tried. I made mine with honey bunches of oats and apple caramel pecan crunch. Turn out great

    Thanks for all your hard work and sharing your tips and secrets with us..

  9. This is great! I would have never thought of it. Thanks

  10. These look delicious! It had never occurred to me to use cereal in granola bars…I’d always just used oatmeal. I’ll definitely have to try this if I can get suitable cereal for cheap!

  11. Those sound (and look!) really good. How long do they stay fresh in the freezer? We are only a family of 3 and there is no way we would eat all those granola bars in a week.

  12. They don’t last very long at my house…I have only kept them in the freezer a week before the kids eat them all up

Leave a Reply

