Walgreens ?????

These are just 2 of the emails I got this weekend asking me about Register Rewards at Walgreens.
Angie said…

I was at a Walgreens in Meridian today talking to some of the cashiers about the catalinas. They told me that you will no longer be able to use a catalina to “pay” for items if you are expecting to get a catalina on that purchase. They said it was new programming and it was something that just started. Have you heard anything about this from your Walgreens?

Joanne said…I have been following your blogs a lot. I went to Walgreens today and they said that if you use a coupon for an item, you will not get register rewards for that item. This happened to me and it never printed any out. They said it was due to the coupons. Is that what you have found to be true in your Walgreens?


I have called Walgreens Customer service and they said that their store Policy HAS NOT changed and you should still be able to use a catalina or a coupon and have a Register Reward print ( as long as either one of them does not prohibit the use of them together) I am not able to get this in writing, so it makes it hard for you as a customer if this does happen, to stand up for yourself. BUT if this does happen please ask for a manager, if it still is not resolved call customer service 1-800-925-4733 and hopefully all the stores will have a unified coupon acceptance. The manger does have the right to limit the quanity of items you buy, but as far as I understand it is Walgreens that programs the conditions on the Register Rewards ( so it should not be up to one store or one manager to change this)  I wish I had a better answer for you all, but being that it was not my “issue” customer service is able to help me much!

14 Responses

  1. If you pay for an item that is getting a RR with a RR from a previous purchase of the same item, then the RR will not print.
    I actually thought my RR yesterday didn’t print-then I remembered the deal was an easy saver rebate, not a RR!!!

  2. This was my reply to angie

    No I have not heard that….the only thing I can think of is a lot of “new coupon shoppers” will buy a toothbrush, pay with cash, get a catalina. THEN try to pay for another toothbrush with that same catalina….you are able to pay but another catalina WILL NOT print. This is called chaining your catalinas. SO they might think it easier to just tell people that they can’t pay with a catalina….and not have to deal with people getting frustrated that another one will not print. BUT for someone who understands this rule, and uses another items catalina ( say a diaper catalina on toothpaste) it does not seem fair to not allow me to use them. I will have to check into this more. Hope you understood what I was trying to say.

    Angie then said

    Yes- I understand what you are saying. I asked them the same thing and they said it didn’t matter what catalina you were using it wouldn’t print another one. Doesn’t make since to me but if you look into it that would be great!

  3. I just ran into this a few weeks ago when I was working the Huggies deals. On the first transaction, I bought three jumbo packs of Huggies and used my $10 Dove RR from the week before. My RR for the Huggies printed. My cashier just mentioned that it wouldn’t work to use my Huggies RR on a second purchase of Huggies and expect another RR to print. Hope that makes sense!

  4. If you did not get a Catalina and should have, you can always call 1-888-8coupon, option 3, and they will check to see and mail you the Catalina. The only way you couldn’t get a Catalina is using the same Catalina Reward, like you mentioned. This just happened to me with the Glucerna cereals, I paid with manufacturer coupons and my RR didn’t print, since it’s not an advertised deal, the manager was clueless, I called the number and said they would mail it to me, the only bummer is that I won’t get it for 6-8 weeks.

  5. all of these 'rules' that seem to be changing with Walgreens – I am honestly thinking of just writing off Walgreens & sticking with Rite Aid & CVS. It shouldn't be so difficult. (btw – I love your site!)

  6. Thanks for looking into that for me. I wasn’t even purchasing anything with a RR we were seeing if the trial size Dove deodorant would work with the RR. It did not work and that is how the discussion came about the RR. Again thanks and I LOVE your site!

  7. Angie,
    the trial sized Dove Deodorant doesn’t work with the RR deal. I tried it as well, at the suggestion of a Walgreen’s cashier. But it doesn’t work, the manager tried it as well.

  8. I went to 2 local wgs today, used coupons at both, paid with RR at both, and got the RR I was supposed to get at both stores. hopefully it is not something that is changing in the future, though!

  9. This is happening here in Dayton, Ohio. I was told in 3 different stores that I would not get back any Register Rewards if I use RR’s on my purchase. It’s crazy how some stores let you and others don’t but then at the store the managers tell me that corporate has changed all stores. UGH! I guess I will never really understand all of this. LOL.

    Thanks for your site!

  10. I got the dove deal to work on the trial size at the new walgreens on Linder and I forgot the street name the one up from ustick.

    Anyways I bought six and a six dollar RR printed, I was not using any other coupons.

  11. Michelle-
    That is funny because I asked a Walgreens Cashier and she told me that the trial size would work as well. To bad it doesn’t!

  12. My local CVS accepts competitor’s coupons. I’ve gotten some amazing deals by combining a CVS sale price with a Walgreens coupon (from the monthly booklet) and a manufacturer’s coupon all on the same item, PLUS ECBs! 🙂

  13. Today the cashier at Eagle and Ustick was chatting away about RR. She said that you had to have more items than coupons or RR wouldn’t print and you had to make sure that you used a different company RR than the one you were wanting. ie: I used 2 RR’s from my huggies deal, which is Kimberly Clark (which is written right on the RR). A new RR printed out because it wasn’t sponsored by Kimberly Clark.

  14. My Best Friend works for one of the LARGE pharmacy companies and she just told me this weekend that the RR were taking 20 to 30 seconds to print out. (that really is a long time when you are standing in a line waiting)
    Lots of people were leaving without them and they caught the cashiers putting them in their pockets.
    Guess what, they were fired!!!!
    Stand and WAIT for your RR….they do print out. It seems the cashiers have been taking them and telling customers otherwise.
    Just wanted to let you know.
    AND I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!!
    Thank you for all you do,
    Amy (Mom to the Four Sisters and a New Breast Cancer Survivor)

Leave a Reply

