Why I wait to use my coupons.

Why I save my coupons and wait for a sale!

If you have read my coupons 101 post, you know that I clip coupons, and then wait to use them on a sale.  Most people get the coupons on Sunday, flip through the insert clip one or two that you want.  Then throw the rest away.  You then use that coupon that week and are able to save a dollar or two and are happy with that.   But I have learned to clip that coupon, then wait for a great sale and not only save $1 but get that item half price, or possibly FREE.
I wanted to make a point of this with the  Garnier Fructis coupon.  These coupons came out last month they were good for a month and a half they expire on 3/15/09. I have had these about 5 weeks now.  If I would have used these the same week they came out I  would have gone to the store, paid about $3 for my shampoo, use the $1 coupon.  I would have been able to get my shampoo for $2 a good deal.   But I waited to use my coupon, and this week Walgreens ran a sale and the shampoo was only .99 cents, This is the perfect time to use my coupon, which made it FREE!
Just because you have a coupon does not mean you should use the coupon,  wait for the coupon to combine with a sale.  Making  an ok deal a SUPER THRIFTY sale.
11 Responses

  1. I am just learning how to use coupons to their full potential. I need to take more time in viewing the papers for sales which is a large part of my problem. time.

    Thank you for helping us wait. And learn.

    Sincerely–

    Vikki
    http://www.ctrimage.com

  2. Do you think that the coupon inserts in the Sunday paper are different depending on the region you live in? You said you have had your Garnier Fructis coupons for 5 weeks while here in NH I just got mine last Sunday? Just curious

  3. Lauren,
    Yes they do differ a bit. As a whole they are the same but some areas will get all the coupons and others will only get some of them. Like last week my RED PLum according to the list should have had a lot more coupons. But my area, the insert came with about half the coupons.

  4. I also took advantage of this deal. I LOVE all of your help and hints on this site!! Thanks.

  5. What do you do when the coupon is more than what the product is worth? I tried using my Excederin coupon for $2 off when it was on sale for $1.99. It wouldn’t take the coupon. It would take it if I rung up two or more at a time, but wouldn’t use all the coupons for the items I was trying to purchase. Any tips?

    Thanks for all your effort and being willing to share your insights and knowledge! Just started last month, and it has for the most part great. But, definitely still in the learning curve.

  6. Bethany,
    In this case if it was walgreens they would just need to adjust the price of the item to $2.00 to match the price of the coupon making it FREE not a .01 cent overage. Some cashiers are better trained at doing this than others. Here is a letter from corporate telling them that yes you can adjust the item price to allow the coupon.

    http://www.scribd.com/doc/7905340/walgreens3
    Thanks
    Sarah

  7. I wish I was more coupon savvy! I’m wanting to start doing the Safeway thing where you can get a bunch of groceries for really cheap, but I’m not too good at organizing, and also a little intimidated by coupons…

  8. Thanks for the explanation. I usually just clip coupons of stuff I normally buy. Thanks to your advice, I’m now clipping pretty much ALL of them, instead. Unfortunately, I didn’t clip this Garnier one! Next time…

  9. Which Walgreens in Caldwell do you go to? There are two off of 10th ave.

  10. I shop most the time at the one on 10th and ustick. My favorite cashiers are Patsy and Maria, they both work at the cosmetics counter and are sweet as they come!!!!

  11. I felt bad at first when I realized i didn’t have fructis garnier coupons anymore. I really wanted to take advantage of the wlagreens deal. but then I realized that I had used them for clearance shampoo and had gotten them cheap, so I didn’t feel AS bad.. lol.

    Lisette
    http://couponqueenofcorning.today.com/

Leave a Reply

