Walgreens Match Ups 3/8 – 3/14

Walgreens weekly ad match ups
I only list the deals that I think are the best, so make sure to check your ad for any deals I might have missed.  To see this weeks ad click here ( thanks HCW)
Thrifty ad deals
Garnier Fructis Shampoo and Conditioner $2.99
-use the Easy saver coupon ( coupon book next to ads in-store)
-use $1 coupon from 3/8 red plum coupon insert or 2/8 
Final price FREE
Coffee Mate Liquid Buy one get one Free $2.49
-use 2/ $1.50 coupons from here
Final price free plus .51 cents overage if your store allows it
Glade Plugins scented oil Lasting Impressions $7.99
– $4 coupon easy saver coupon ( coupon book next to ads in store)
-use  buy one get one free coupon here
Final price FREE
Colgate Total Toothpaste $3.49
-use $2.50 easy saver coupon  ( coupon book next to ads in store)
-use the $1 coupon from the 2/22 smart source coupon insert
Final price FREE

Aquafresh Toothpaste 6.4 oz 
-use in-store coupon which will make it .99 cents
-use .75 cent coupon from here 
Final price .24 cents
Lysol wipes $2.00
-use $1 coupon from the 2/1 smart source coupon insert
Final price $1.00
Red Baron Pizza  for $5
-use $1 off 2 coupon from the 3/1 red plum
Final price $2 a pizza when you buy 2
Robitussin $3.99
-use the $2 coupon from here
Final price $2.99

Register Rewards Deals this week ( what is aRR click here?)

You have to pay for your item up front and then after you pay, a Register Reward will print good towards your next purchase.  The trick is to try and make your Register Rewards or Rebate money over lap from sale to sale.  If you do it right, you pay up front once and then you are able to pay for most your items with RR or rebate money.

Advil PM $4.49
-use the $2.00 printable here
-after you pay you will get a $2.00 register reward
Final cost .49 cents

Crest Prohealth Toothpaste 4.2 oz $2.49
-use $1 coupon from the 2/8 P&G insert 
Or you can use the .75 cent coupon from 3/1 P&G insert
-get back a $1 register rewards after you pay
Final price .49 cents

Gillette Gamer Razor $8.99
-use $4 coupon from 3/1 P&G coupon insert
-get back a $4 register reward after you pay
Final price .99 cents


Buy $25 dollars worth of items and get a $10 Register Reward back

$10 Huggies Diapers or Training Pants Jumbo Pack

-use $5 on Huggies (Gentle Care)from here
– use $3 on Huggies (Natural Fit)
from here
– use $1.50 in the 3/1 Smart Source coupon  Insert 

 $6 Huggies Baby Wipes 184-232 pack
-use $5 huggies ( gentle care) making them only .99 cents 
 coupon from here
-use $.50 in the 3/1 Smart source  Insert 

If you are new to shopping at Walgreens read my Walgreens tips to help with any questions you might have.

11 Responses

  1. Red Plum insert? Smart Source insert? I’m new to this and confused. Are these inserts from the Sunday paper?

    Also which Sunday papers are the “must haves” for good couponing?… Do you have a subscription or just buy the paper each week? And have you found a coupon for the Sunday paper?

    THANKS!!! Camillemcc@gmail.com

  2. Camille,
    Red plum and Smart source are inserts that come in most sunday papers once a month there is also a P&G insert. I buy 6 sunday papers a week, if it is a really really good coupon insert then I get or buy even more than that. If you are local I have worked out a deal with the Idaho Press Tribune, called the A Thrifty Mom paper deal where you get the daily paper plus 4 sunday papers all for $13.80 a month.

  3. I had a horrible experience at my Walgreens this morning. Not only were they cleaned out of the good stuff, the manager was a total jerk and said that I couldn’t use a previous Register Reward I had, even though I got a “filler” item so I had the same amount of items and coupons. He said you can’t use Register Rewards at all if you use coupons. Have you ever encountered this?

  4. Michelle,
    I am so sorry you had a bad coupon trip, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE call customer service and let then know of your bad experience, save your receipt call 1-800-925-4733 and tell them how your were treated, if they don’t know the management is being rude then they can’t fix the issue. The only thing I can think of that might have caused them to not let you use the Register Reward is…..you can’t pay sales tax with a register reward. You have to pay it with cash. This makes it a little tricky sometimes. Please call them and then let me know how it goes. Take care
    sarah

  5. I have a question on the CoffeeMate coupon. You said you used 2/$1.50 coupons printed from that site. It will not allow me to print the coupon twice – were you able to, or did you just photocopy it somehow? 2 CoffeeMates for $1.00 is still a good deal, just not as good as your $.51 overage, so I’m curious how you were able to do this? Thanks.

  6. I actually just went to another Walgreens and had no problems, the manager of the one was just being a jerk. I called Customer Service but their number wasn’t working so I filed a complaint online. There was much more on my balance than just the sales tax, so that wasn’t the issue, it was just an issue with the manager. I requested a written copy of corporate Register rewards policy so I can have it handy for the future.
    I ended up getting 2 packs of diapers (that is all they had left) and 2 boxes of Kotex tampons and with coupons (including my RR) it cost $7.67 and then I got a $10 RR back! So I am happy, it just took some effort!

  7. First I wanted to thank you for your website. It’s so easy to understand, and so organized.
    I went to walgreens today and got some of the things you have listed. I spent $2.67 out of pocket and saved $33.87. I wouldn’t have been able to do this without your help. Thank you so much!
    Oh, and I wasn’t able to use both of my coffe mate coupons. The second coupon kept beeping everytime the cashier tried to ring it up.

  8. The cashier need to adjust the price higher on the coffemate product.
    If the item cost 99 cents, but you have a $1 off coupon, some stores wont allow the overage, so ask the cashier to raise the price from 99 cents to $1.
    see my post about this at:
    http://athriftymom.com/2009/03/adjusting-price-of-coupon.html

  9. My name is Jim and I am the Executive Assistant Manager at the Overland and 5 Mile Walgreens. Of course we want your business, coupons and all. I would like your help though. Can someone send me an email every Thursday about the hot items for the next week so that I can order and be in stock. We try to anticipate demand and order accordingly but with this new coupon business we sometimes miss badly. I don’t want to get completely blind sided again like the Huggies thing. By helping me you help yourselves! Thanks. Jim gonhikn@hotmail.com

  10. Hi Jim,
    Thanks for your email, I think as couponers learn to work with the stores and voice their need, it will work better for everyone. I understand how frustrating it must be for you to not have the items in stock that your customers want to buy. And on the flip side of that, I hear that compliant more than anything that the store was out of stock so why shop. I personally do not shop on Sundays so i knew all the diapers would be gone, so I just asked to place an order with my local Caldwell store, they were happy to help. It is a win- win, the store sells more diapers, but I don’t take them away from other shoppers. To answer your question about the email on Thursday, I don’t get an ad till Closing on Saturday night. I have asked my local store about getting an ad early they are checking to see what they can do. I think if you let shoppers know they can place an order it would REALLY cut down on the mad rush to clear the shelf. Would you like me to promote placing orders, is that something your store is willing to do? I think as we work together, you will be able to build great relationships with customers eager to spend money in your stores.

    Sarah
    A Thrifty Mom

  11. I live in Ohio – but I still try to use most of your ideas for stores that are also in my area – I went to Walgreens yesterday to get the diapers – had no problems using all the coupons and getting RR. I bought 2 of the coffeemate creamers – had one $1.50/1 coupon and one $1/1 coupon. They would not allow me to use the $1 coupon because they said that it was purchased for $0 and that I can’t use a coupon on an item that already rings in free. I was still happy with getting 2 for $1 – but it was still frustrating! I mentioned that maybe they needed to adjust the coupon or price of item – but even the assistant mgr said no that the system would not take it. They were not rude – but they were definately not friendly or nice.
    Thanks!
    Lisa 🙂

Leave a Reply

