Being an Honest Coupon Shopper

What would you have done?

On Monday night I went to Kmart, I had my daughter with me so I was having a hard time focusing.  I was a little frustrated because most the items I went to get were out of stock.  Once I paid I got home and realized I had 2 Herbal Essences shampoos in my bag.  My first thought was great they charged me for someone else’s shampoo.  I looked at my receipt and the shampoo was not on there……so basically I got 2 free bottles of shampoo.   But I did not pay for them….. it was not my mistake,  SO should I have kept them?  
I wrapped them back in the Kmart bag and put them in my purse.  Last night I took them into the customer service desk, I told the girl I wanted to bring these back.  I told her they had been placed in my bag by mistake and I had not paid for them.  She just kind of looked at me with this glazed look….like are you for real lady.  She thanked me and that was the end of it.   No one would have ever known  if I had not returned them.  I could have just thought of it as my lucky day and kept them.  But I would have known that I had kept something that was not mine.  So do you think I was crazy, what would you have done?
22 Responses

  1. Did you have a coupon you were using with them? Did they take your coupon? I think if I had them home, didn’t have my coupon anymore than I would just keep them. I think it actually happens more than we know. There have been many times that I have been charged a different price or for more than 1 of an item that I actually got, but didn’t look at my receipt until I got home. I don’t go back and get my money, so I would consider it even.
    You did the Christlike thing. Good Job. You may not want to take my choice, it is the devilish way to do things.

  2. You did the right thing, it would not have been worth comprimising your integrity keeping the shampoo!

  3. Good for you – I’d like to say I’d do the same thing. What goes around comes around, right?

  4. It is Karma and you did the right thing as to return something you didnt pay for – even if it wasnt your fault…stealing is stealing regaurdless.

  5. It is Karma and you did the right thing as to return something you didnt pay for – even if it wasnt your fault…stealing is stealing regaurdless.

  6. It is Karma and you did the right thing as to return something you didnt pay for – even if it wasnt your fault…stealing is stealing regaurdless.

  7. It is Karma and you did the right thing as to return something you didnt pay for – even if it wasnt your fault…stealing is stealing regaurdless.

  8. It is Karma and you did the right thing as to return something you didnt pay for – even if it wasnt your fault…stealing is stealing regaurdless.

  9. It is Karma and you did the right thing as to return something you didnt pay for – even if it wasnt your fault…stealing is stealing regaurdless.

  10. It is Karma and you did the right thing as to return something you didnt pay for – even if it wasnt your fault…stealing is stealing regaurdless.

  11. It is Karma and you did the right thing as to return something you didnt pay for – even if it wasnt your fault…stealing is stealing regaurdless.

  12. 100% the right thing.
    I’ve done that too. They think we’re nuts!

  13. I would have done what you did. It is a wonderful example to your daughter of honesty. what would you have wanted her to do? It was also a lesson to the clerk that there are honest people in the world still. Besides I bet the shampoo would have stung your eyes because you didn’t ‘pay’ for it.

  14. UR an idiot. You never should have done that. Sorry, devils advocate.

  15. Thanks Mike….right back at ya!

  16. I completely think you did the right thing. I have had similar experiences with items. What has always surprised me was the nonchalance in which the cashiers accepted the items back. What a great example you are for your family but also now you can be happy with yourself knowing you did the right thing just because it was the right thing

  17. You definitely did the right thing. I own a newspaper dealership and can’t tell you the amount of theft I deal with either from newspaper racks or out of people’s front yards. People justify it because its just a newspaper. Bottom line is – if its not yours, its not yours.

  18. Sarah you definitely did the right thing. Stealing is stealing no matter what. Even if you didn’t put the product in your bags, you know you didn’t pay for them so way to go in setting a good example for your kids and others. Part of the reason prices are what they are today is because of those that steal.

  19. This happened to me at kmart yesterday! They put two pairs of pants in my bag- one that I told them to put back, and the other they didn’t ring up. I immediately realized the mistake and went to customer service to return the one pair of pants and pay for the other. I figure my honesty isn’t worth $2 or $5 and if they made a mistake that hurts me I would be right back in the store asking for a refund- and so I should be fair the same way when the store makes a mistake that hurts them. I love your blog by the way- it’s really fun- I’m glad i found it. I like that you’re honest too.

  20. I have done the same thing and received the same response – people can’t seem to understand or appreciate true honesty anymore. I suppose it doesn’t really matter what others think – you have to live with the decisions you make and satisfying your ethics and morals is worth far more than free shampoo.

  21. I had a similar experience in Kmart this week. I used double coupons on Pull-ups, but didn’t get the $3 instant rebate I was supposed to. I went to Customer Service, they told me I needed to buy bigger packages, so I did. When they returned the old ones and rang up the new, they said they owed me $.80. I took it, went home, and thought, “how could that be?” I pulled out my receipt and noticed they had returned the first packages but not the double coupons ($8 worth) then rung up the new ones with the same double coupons. So basically I got an extra $8 off. I went back to the store and the guy at Customer Service looked at me like I had lobsters crawling out of my ears. He said, “Well…you’re being honest and I really don’t know how I would fix this, so just keep it.” I couldn’t believe him and offered to just give them $8 cash. He said no and I walked out thinking, well, I still feel weird, but I’m glad I was honest.

    Another time I came home from Albertson’s and found a container of yogurt in my boy’s carseat — I obviously hadn’t paid for it since it had been tucked nicely away (by another of my kiddos) in the blanket. I went back the next time I was in Albertson’s and told the Customer Service people what had happened. They rang up my $.40 yogurt and I payed for it. I was glad I did.

    You did the right thing and we always should. Whether we meant to or not, keeping something we didn’t pay for is stealing. And the universe keeps tabs on those things, I think. 🙂

  22. You did do the right thing. No question about it. There are absolutes in this world – right and wrong, honesty and dishonesty. Honesty is the best policy.
    Our children watch & imitate what we do. Your daughter learned that it was RIGHT to return what didn’t belong to you. Who knows, maybe the cashier that made the mistake DIDN’T lose her job because YOU returned the item. What we do, DOES affect others even if we don’t see it.

Leave a Reply

